taoterew.blogg.se

Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide
Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide













  1. Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide free#
  2. Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide windows#

And yeah another disadvantage, it takes about 8mb of RAM (if I remember correctly), if you have a lots of them Ableton gets slower (as always when plugs consumer RAM).

Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide windows#

You can easily end up with too many Pro-Q windows on screen, which is a problem that you don't have with EQ8. There is one disadvantage though, the fact that it is a VST plugin. I, frankly, really like the sound of ohmicide, but the interface is so. Pro-Q is very transparent, especially in linear phase mode. FabFilter Saturn is a high quality multi-band distortion and saturation plug-in. I also use always the linear phase mode when EQing anything with bass frequencies, liner phase is not available in EQ8. Another advantage is that if you need to cut more than 12db (as I need to now and then), EQ8 is difficult to use. It is easy to make very accurate EQ adjustments with the help of ctrl and shift buttons. Main advantage with Pro-Q is its user interface. If it is not that important then I use EQ8. Pro-Q is currently my main EQ, if the sound is important then I always use it. I'm still using many preamps a lot too.I haven't yet used Live9 EQ that much but I have used very much Live8 EQ and Fabfilter Pro-Q. I like brainworx distortion plug as well. It's going to take me a while to get a handle on that beast. Haven't gotten into trash enough but it seems limitless as far as distortion goes. I also like to overdrive the input of the UAD Studer A800, I think it works perfect for vocals.My problem with softube's saturation knob is it always adds gain and no output knob. I also like to overdrive the input of the UAD Studer A800, I think it works perfect for vocals. But I wouldn't want to be without the Saturn for times when I want to go crazy. So for most parts, Softube is enough for me. It has a great natural sound on just about anything, and it also does a very simple and fast version of multiband distortion by a switch that lets you leave either the treble or bass unaffected, or distort the whole spectrum evenly.

Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide free#

To add some quick and dirty saturation, I would actually recommend Softubes free saturation knob over the Decapitator.

fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide

Which makes me personally just use the samy type, and bascially ending up with one distortion model. Also, it has some different distortion models, but as someone also already mentioned, not all of them are as good as the others. The flipside of that coin can sometimes be that's it's complex.ĭecapitator is a classic, and the sound is great, but I'm often annoyed by the difference in output between presets, making my monitors and ears not so happy. Like others have mentioned, there is no question about Saturn being the king of variation and options here. I have the Saturn and Decapitator, and I would also like to add the Softube free saturation knob to the list. Satin is amazing, but its saturation capabilities are of course less versatile than those of the other two. Some of the distortion modes I dislike on most material I've tried them on.

fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide

I love Decapitator, too, although I find it a bit overrated. Multiband for distortion is more useful than multiband for compression, yet there are so many multiband compressors and only one multiband distortion plugin. I really wonder why nobody else has thought of this before. Multiband distortion is a godsend because it often makes a lot of sense to distort only the mids and highs, but not the low end. It sounds amazing and offers way more functionality than Decapitator. I find Saturn the best saturation plugin around. (But whatever you need to tell yourself to justify buying both ) NelsonOf course there's overlap dude, they are both saturation plug-ins. What I'm trying to avoid is having multiple plugins which do the same thing. I was look at buying one or the other, but if there really isn't any overlap, then I suppose I can buy both. : Would you consider there to be any overlap between Saturn and Decapitator? It even has a "service" panel where you can "mod" the machine.

fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide

It's also a gorgeous delay and flange unit and it also has an extensive compander emulation section that makes it really damn useful for those with actual reel-to-reel (or cassette) tape machines. I don't really see it just as a saturator though, it's much more than that.

fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide

Satin is just a fantastic emulation of a tape machine and easily my fave of its kind. I never really fell in love with Saturn (I prefer Izotope Trash 2 and Ohmicide) but it's the only multi-band saturation plug in the trio so if that's what you're after go for it!ĭecapitator is a classic saturation plug-in.















Fabfilter saturn vs ohmicide